About City

About Municipality
Ambur Municipality is situated in Vellore District under the control of Regional Director of Municipal Administration, Vellore. Ambur Municipality was upgraded from Town Panchayat to III Grade Municipality on 11.4.1948. Later Ambur Municipality was upgraded as II Grade Municipality, as per G.O.No.458 of R.D. & L.A. Department, dated 1.4.1973. Then after, Ambur Municipality was upgraded as I Grade Municipality, as per G.O. No. 85 of R.D.& L.A. Department, dated 22.5.1998. After that, Ambur Municipality was upgraded as Selection Grade Municipality, as per G.O.(Ms) No. 283 of MA.& WS. Department, dated 02.12.2008. and the Municipality is functioning in the same grade till date.
It is consisting of three villages namely Kaspa, Mel krishnapuram and Sanankuppam covering an extent of 17.97 Sq.k.m. This municipality is having 36 wards. Election was conducted for this Municipality on 19.10.2011. The elected council with 36 members with chairperson assumed charge on 25.10.2011 and functioning effectively by providing all basic amenities to the people of Ambur.